The War of the Roses

Sydney Theatre Company

Tom Wright and director Benedict Andrews’ script for The War of the Roses is a conflation of eight separate Shakespeare plays: Richard II, Henry IV parts 1 and 2, Henry V, Henry VI parts 1, 2 and 3, and Richard III. Much as it may sound like a strange thing to say of a production that spans ten hours, Wright and Andrews’ text is actually a drastically pared-down version of a much larger body of work - Shakespeare’s two tetralogies concerning the civil conflict over the English crown.

Written by William Shakespeare
Adapted by Tom Wright and Benedict Andrews
Director Benedict Andrews
Designer Robert Cousins
Lighting Nick Schlieper
Music and sound design Max Lyandvert
Musician Stefan Gregory
Performers Narek Armaganian, Cate Blanchett, Brandon Burke, Peter Carroll, Marta Dusseldorp, Eden Falk, Holly Fraser, John Gaden, Louis Hunter, Michael Kilbane, Ewen Leslie, Steve Le Marquand, Hayley McElhinney, Amber McMahon, Robert Menzies, Luke Mullins, Pamela Rabe, Emily Russell, Billy Shaw-Voysey and Leo Shaw Voysey.

Photo | Benedict Andrews & Tania Kelley